About Us

Laois Cricket Club

The Laois Cricket Club currently has 3 Adult Teams, and there are plenty opportunities for everyone to participate. The Laois Cricket Club is always looking to introduce the sport of cricket to new people and anyone interested in joining can please make contact with any of our club officers.

The Laois Cricket Club Stradbally is situated behind the Napper Tandy pub on the main street in Stradbally. And the entrance to the club is on the left-hand side of the pub.

About Laois

Laois Cricket Club is located in the historic and picturesque village of Stradbally. The Club was originally the Midland Cricket Club based in Tullamore where it spent its first fifteen years, it then moved to Portarlington for one season before moving to Portlaoise where it spent 33 years before the move to its present and hopefully final location in 2019. Along the way the Club changed its name to Laois CC.

The Club started in Midland cricket competitions joining Leinster Cup and League in 1987 and over the following years winning leagues and cups at various levels which included reaching four Senior 2 cup finals, winning two, as well as reaching the final of The National cup. Currently the club fields two league sides and a social side. Our youths section has restarted and hopefully down the road we will have a Ladies team.

New members are very welcome to the Abbey where we have installed new grass pitches to compliment our artificial along with two practice nets , with all necessary facilities relevant to the practice and playing of cricket. For families there is a play area in the Orchard which is part of the grounds. As the grounds are located in the center of the village backing on to Napper Tandy’s tavern all the amenities of the village are in close proximity, two coffee shops, a Saturday Country Market, children’s play ground, walking areas plus numerous family facilities.

The Club continues to support both Midland and Leinster competitions, welcome touring and social teams, run regular BBQ after games as well as enjoying the hospitality of the village.

Club History

  • Leinster Division 4 Winners 2012
  • Wallace Cup Winners 2012
  • Dick O'Neill Cup Winners 2012